cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Proper Method of Storing Data

byutz
1-Newbie

Proper Method of Storing Data

I have an application where we are logging several properties on different pieces of equipment.  I originally set them up with value streams because its a very quick and easy way to log data.  However, we now require that all of the properties be logged at precisely the same time, so that we can have a file with a row having 1 timestamp and all of the property values at that time.  Should I be using a regular Stream for this so that I can control the logging?   I have never used one before and it seems like the documentation talks a lot about Value Streams and very little about Streams.  Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jasong
1-Newbie
(To:byutz)

A stream would be a better choice, yes. All you need is to look for the Add / Update / Delete StreamEntries services on the stream.

But keep in mind the current ThWx limitations: Where Should I Store My Thingworx Data?

We sometimes create a Stream for each device, so that we can keep the number of rows low, rather than store all data for all devices in a single stream. Regardless, if you are going to keep more than 1/2 a million rows in a single stream, which is not really that much, you should offload that to SQL and use the Database ThingTemplate to wire it in.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
jasong
1-Newbie
(To:byutz)

A stream would be a better choice, yes. All you need is to look for the Add / Update / Delete StreamEntries services on the stream.

But keep in mind the current ThWx limitations: Where Should I Store My Thingworx Data?