cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

How to change a thing's property with random values?

fmanniti
9-Granite

How to change a thing's property with random values?

I'm sorry for the question (maybe stupid) but I'm very new with ThingWorx.

I have a thing shape, thing template and 25 things with some properties. Let's call the properties Alpha, Beta, Gamma.

1. I want that every 5 seconds Alpha change its value with a random number between 1 and 100
  2. I want Beta to change its value according to the new Alpha value (example: Beta = Alpha * 2.5)
  3. I want Gamma to change its value with a random number (just like Alpha) every x seconds and x must be a random number too

I guess I must use some Javascript into the Snippets but I'd be glad if you could give me an help while I try to see by myself

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi Fabio,

On server side Javascript:

1. Build a Timer Thing which triggers every 5 seconds
    2. Subscribe to the previous event from the Thing which owns Alpha property, and set property with Math.floor(Math.random()*100)+1
    1. Subscribe to Property Change event on Alpha from the thing which owns Beta,
    2. set bet = thingwithAlpha.Alpha*2.5
    1. same as 1

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Hi Fabio,

On server side Javascript:

1. Build a Timer Thing which triggers every 5 seconds
    2. Subscribe to the previous event from the Thing which owns Alpha property, and set property with Math.floor(Math.random()*100)+1
    1. Subscribe to Property Change event on Alpha from the thing which owns Beta,
    2. set bet = thingwithAlpha.Alpha*2.5
    1. same as 1

Thanks for your help but since I'm very new with Thingworx I don't know if I understood it all.