cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

How can i read in data from a database, creating ThingTemplates from my data programmatically?

emasiala
1-Newbie

How can i read in data from a database, creating ThingTemplates from my data programmatically?

I am very new to ThingWorx, so any guidance is appreciated. I need to read data from an existing SQL database, and programmatically create ThingShapes, ThingTempates and Things from my data. I am not sure how to read in the data ... any tutorials would be helpful too. the existing video tutorials do not address my questions.

13 REPLIES 13
paic
1-Newbie
(To:emasiala)

The eLearning content should have covered how to retrieve data from a database.

Together with the EntityServices library you should have all the tools you need.

I recommend you check articles that deal with CreateThing/CreateThingTemplates etc.

Is there a particular use case though that you would need to go to this extend?

Generally it is recommended to have the 'skeleton' model in place and not completely dynamically define all entities, but use that to spin of Entities based on a defined model.

emasiala
1-Newbie
(To:paic)

I now have the basic templates in place. I still can't find a tutorial on reading in data from a database.

The videos cover creating things and templates etc, but not how to connect to an external data source - at least, I am yet to find one that does...

Hi