cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

How to load data into a grid from file repository which contains an excel file?

hpanchamoorthy
1-Newbie

How to load data into a grid from file repository which contains an excel file?

Hi there...

I'm trying to get the excel file content from file repository and load it into gird.

I have tried a couple of services such as csv parsing and load text. While using csv parsing service, i'm getting the content but not able to load it into the grid.(I checked it in debug option)

I'm a beginner to this platform. It will be very helpful if i get some suggestions.

15 REPLIES 15

Actually there isn't any service to read XLS files, to read it out-of-the-box with TW, the file should be a CSV file or a simple TXT file.

Hi Carles,

You're correct. I have also tried CSV file but not able to load the content to grid. I would like to explain the task that i'm doing.

1. I shall import any csv file to the file repository.

2. The path of the csv file shall be taken using **GetFileInfo** service.

3. Then, mapping the path from **GetFileInfo** service to **LoadText** service shall provide the csv content. (I have done till this)

4. Here's the final one...​ When I try to load the content, the service throws an exception saying "Datashape must be specified". If I know the content of the table, I can create DataShape for that.(Please correct me if i'm wrong) But in my case, i don't know about the content and want to load it to grid.

Will rephrase if this is not clear.

Thanks.

Hi,

Step 4. If you don't know the format of CSV file you can't use CSVParserFunctions, as they expect that you know the format before and you pass it as a DataShape.