cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Run a local service from SDK

cjackson1
1-Newbie

Run a local service from SDK

I am new to Thingworx and trying to understand how the services work through an SDK (.net for what it's worth).

Basically I want to know how to run a local service (local being relative to the platform) from my client code.  I see how we create a remote service, pick it up at the platform and can test it out at the platform which executes the code on the client.  How do I do the opposite where I reach up to the platform, execute a service and get the result back down to the client?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi Chris,

There are numerous ways to achieve this.

Firstly , Once a Virtual Object from Java SDK is binded with Remote Thing on Thingworx server , all the properties can be pushed from Virtual object to Remote Thing on Thingworx , and you can put an alert against any such properties to call a service once certain specified condition is met. I mean you can call service depending on value of any property.

Secondly , You can invoke a service on Thing from Client application.

I am sending you a small documentation wherein an example code is given for service invoked from from Java SDK .

(Please excuse the formatting , as I created just for single user , ie you. )

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Hi @Chris

I have achiveved the similar functionality through Java SDK.

We have created a service on Things which when invoked from Java SDK running on Remote machine can create another thing from a specific template.

Please see the steps and code below:

Step 1 Create a new Template named as "TemplateForCreatingThingsRemotely" from Remote Template.