cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Service to authenticate and POST to external system

ykrysko
1-Newbie

Service to authenticate and POST to external system

Hello,

I am very new to ThingWorx,  and I am currently evaluating the product. I am trying to create a service in ThingWorx that will execute upon certain alert on a thing and post alert content to an external system via external system's REST API. With that, does ThingWorx offer a client lib like XMLHttpRequest for javascripting, or how do one normally handles authentication and GET/POST requests to external web APIs in ThingWorx?

Thanks,

Yuri

12 REPLIES 12

Hi Yuriy,

You should look at Snippets / ContentLoaderFunctions there you will find GET ( GetJSON, GetText,.. ), PUT ( PutJSON, PutText,... ) , POST and DELETE Calls.

Best Regards,

Thanks Carles! This worked out well. However, one more question arises: it seems like PostJSON snippet does not honor optional headers (JSON) parameter. At least I am not seeing any headers coming to my web server, when I specify them in the ThingWorx snippet and then try to trace them on my web server side. I wonder if I am doing something wrong, or maybe it's a bug. Thanks again.

I don't know sorry, you will need to dig by yourself.

supandey
19-Tanzanite
(To:ykrysko)

Yuriy, are these parameters set to null or empty?

Thank you for your responses! So, I am setting headers parameter to one of my variables, named headers, which contains JSON-encoded value of headers string. But it has no effect, headers come empty to the web server.

var params = {

proxyScheme: undefined /* STRING */,

headers: headers /* JSON */,

ignoreSSLErrors: true /* BOOLEAN */,

useNTLM: false /* BOOLEAN */,

workstation: undefined /* STRING */,