cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Enhancement Request - Improve "mating" connection of Thingmark to the 3D Model

BillRyan
15-Moonstone

Enhancement Request - Improve "mating" connection of Thingmark to the 3D Model

I experienced this a couple times and I've been working with PTC software for 19 years...so I have good intuition as to what a bug is versus intended functionality!  And this feels like a bug.

I used mate to position my Thingmark to the 3D model.  Later, I added a 3D label widget and previewed my experience to find out that my Thingmark was now randomly placed out in space away from the 3d model.  My Canvas still showed the Thingmark located on the 3D model correctly.  I saved project...exit Thingworx studio and then reopened my project to see that the Thingmark was now placed incorrectly like the preview previously showed. 

My request is to ensure that the transform position of the 3d model with respect to the transform position of the thingmark be VERY sticky.

Other users - Please reply or add comments if you experience a similar issue.  I don't want to waste PTC's tech support or developers time if I'm the only one experiencing this.

5 REPLIES 5
TajuJoseph
6-Contributor
(To:BillRyan)

Looks to me like a bug, but never experience that same.

Hi Bill,

I'd be interested in the steps to reproduce. Did you mate the 3D Label as well? If so, with the model?

It would be great if you could share a screenshot of it looks like and how it should look like - just to get an idea where the misplacement happens.

I've tried to reproduce the behavior with some standard elements, but the Thingmark will stay in place (at least with my test scenario).

Cheers

/Michael

BillRyan
15-Moonstone
(To:mneumann)