cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Localiztion tables

imor
1-Newbie

Localiztion tables

Hi

As an extensions developer, I often encounter the meter of localization tables.

While developing an extension, there is a lack of information regarding the localization tables that may or may not appear in Thingworx, in time whem the extension will be imported.

After reading the localization page, in the support manual, I had come to a conclusion that each user can “point” to only one localization table as it’s default table. However, as extension developer I can’t know which tables are even defined in the system.
Also, what happen if two separate extensions define same localization term?

More than that, I would expect that there will be a more generic support to choose the language based on browser configurations, rather than forcing the administrator to go over each of dozens of thousands of user and assign to each one a localization table.

I wonder whether there any  guidance regarding better practices for using localization tables, in the cases I had presented.

Thank you

Ido

17 REPLIES 17

Hi Ido,

Some thoughts about it after some months of development with ThingWorx:

• Also, what happen if two separate extensions define same localization term?
    • You should prefix all your Keywords to not this allow, for instance MyExtension.Token1, ...
  • More than that, I would expect that there will be a more generic support to choose the language based on browser configurations, rather than forcing the administrator to go over each of dozens of thousands of user and assign to each one a localization table.