cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

How can I set a connection between Thingworx without plugging ethernet cable to Raspberry Pi and using PuTTy?

emericboyu
1-Newbie

How can I set a connection between Thingworx without plugging ethernet cable to Raspberry Pi and using PuTTy?

Hello everyone, I'm quite new to the topic building an IoT network.  What I need to do is to track the temperature of an area using Temperature Sensor DS18b20 and upload this temperature data to Thingworx platform by using a Raspberry Pi.  The challenging thing is that I can't connect the Raspberry Pi directly to internet because of the security measures of the company and I can't use PuTTy since it is not allowed either.  All documentations that I found explaines the way wth PuTTy.  Is there a way to connect my Raspberry Pi with the Thingworx network by using a source code?  Thank you for your attention!

6 REPLIES 6

Hi...

for connecting the Pi to ThingWorx, there needs to be an actual connection in any sort. This could be through a (W)LAN or with some GSM connection - some way of allowing to connect the device to the ThingWorx server.

In case you're not allowed to connect the Pi directly to the Internet (I assume ThingWorx is somewhere on the net not on your local network), is it possible to use a (corproate) proxy server?

There's a nice example at

http://mrchrisjbailey.co.uk/2013/03/19/connecting-raspberry-pi-through-school-proxy/

So what's the usual way of connecting from inside your network to the internet?

Is this allowed at all? If not, maybe some kind of mobile connection could be a solution, where a phone is acting as a WIFI hotspot for the Pi to connect to.

Cheers,

Michael

Hey Michael,