cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

How to create a subscription for boolean property?

miwhow
3-Visitor

How to create a subscription for boolean property?

Hi all

I am new in javascript coding and hope some of you can help me in proceeding with my problem.

I am using ThingWorx 8.3.7.

I want a label-widget to be displayed with either the text "Connected" or "Disconnected" on my dashboard to show if the machine is connected or not.   

I am working with two properties:

• Boolean: isConnected
    • when boolean is true: the text should be "Connected" 
    • when boolean is false: the text should be "Disconnected"
  • String: ConnectionStatus

I have tried to create a simple subscription (see script and picture below) with the if/else statement, but when the mashup is loaded the label is not visible with any of the texts. I used the GetPropertyValue service and bound the ConnectionStatus string to the label-widget.

Am I missing anything or writing the script/statements wrong? (eg the booleans false/true value) Or is there a better way to achieve this? 

Please let me know if you need further information

Thanks, Michelle

if(eventData.newValue.value === true) { 
    me.ConnectionStatus = "Connected";
} else { 
    me.ConnectionStatus = "Disonnected"; 
}

Subscription.JPG

Binding.JPG

6 REPLIES 6

Try GetProperties instead, and check the box "Automatically update values when able" that why the connection status will update "automagically" when it connects/disconnects. Also remember to trigger the GetProperties service at Mashup Loaded or alike.

Regards,

Carles.

Thanks for your reply Charles,

I have triggered the Mashup Loaded and tried to use GetProperties instead, but no text is shown here as well...