cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Mashup to Mashup communication within same Master

rtaylor-3
1-Newbie

Mashup to Mashup communication within same Master

Greetings,

I have a master page layout which contains two panes.

In the left pane i have a grid mashup and in the right pane, i have another grid mashup.

I would like to filter the contents of the grid mashup in the right pane based on a selection
made on the grid mashup in the left pane.

For example, invoke a mashup_B reload on a mashup_A selectedRowsChanged event

Is this possible to do?

4 REPLIES 4

Binding events might get tricky. On a general note, communicating between two Mashups within the same Master (or a Mashup) can be done by using  Mashup Parameters. You would have to create Mashup Parameters on both mashup_A and mashup_b and bind the relevant value to said parameter in each Mashup.

Here's a simple example:

Add a Grid to mashup_A and bind the 'All Data' of GetImplementingThings service based on GenericThing to this Grid. Create a Mashup Parameter called 'name' and bind the 'name' property of 'Selected Rows' of GetImplementingThings to it. Save mashup_A. What we have done now is, we have a grid populated with the Things associated with the GenericThing Template. Each time you select a row, the value in the 'name' column gets stored to the 'name' property we created as a Mashup Parameter.

In mashup_B, add a Grid and bind 'All Data' of a Dynamic GetPropertyValues service based on any Thing to it. Similar to mashup_A, create a Mashup Parameter called 'name' and bind this property to 'EntityName' of your GetPropertyValues service. In order to trigger this, add a button with the clicked event bound to the same GetPropertyValues service.