7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2016 6:32 AM by carlesc RSS
    fmanniti Creator

How to change a thing's property with random values?

I'm sorry for the question (maybe stupid) but I'm very new with ThingWorx.

I have a thing shape, thing template and 25 things with some properties. Let's call the properties Alpha, Beta, Gamma.

1. I want that every 5 seconds Alpha change its value with a random number between 1 and 100
    2. I want Beta to change its value according to the new Alpha value (example: Beta = Alpha * 2.5)
    3. I want Gamma to change its value with a random number (just like Alpha) every x seconds and x must be a random number too

I guess I must use some Javascript into the Snippets but I'd be glad if you could give me an help while I try to see by myself

• Re: How to change a thing's property with random values?
        carlesc Ninja

Hi Fabio,

On server side Javascript:

1. Build a Timer Thing which triggers every 5 seconds
          2. Subscribe to the previous event from the Thing which owns Alpha property, and set property with Math.floor(Math.random()*100)+1
          1. Subscribe to Property Change event on Alpha from the thing which owns Beta,
          2. set bet = thingwithAlpha.Alpha*2.5
          1. same as 1
            fmanniti Creator

Thanks for your help but since I'm very new with Thingworx I don't know if I understood it all.
            I write here all the steps I've done and if you can tell me what's wrong I'd be glad.

1. I created a thing Shape named EvolutionShape with the following properties: Alpha (number), Beta (number), Gamma (number)
            2. I created a thing template named EvolutionTemplate
            3. I created a Thing named Ev-Th1
            4. I can see Alpha and Beta into a Mashup called EvolutionMash and they are represented by two led digits. In the same mashup there also is a Autorefres button.